Meisner Summer Intensive Interview with Sara Kohler – Maggie Flanigan Studio – Phone 917 789 1599

Posted on

Meisner Summer Intensive Interview with Sara Kohler - Maggie Flanigan Studio - Phone 917 789 1599In this interview with Katie, Sara Kohler talks about the Meisner Summer Intensive at the Maggie Flanigan Studio.

The Meisner Intensive supplies pupils with all the chance to experience what this means to train as a professional performer. In this interview, Sara talks about her expertise in the six-week summer intensive and how it was different than what she formerly thought the professional training was like.

Q: What did you think acting training was the Six Week Summer Intensive before you began?

A: I though that acting training was a large amount of what I did in college. I didnt believe it was necessary for me personally. I didnt know what training so coming here and actually meant, and learning the beginning of the Meisner technique, I started to see that training was nothing that I believed it was. Its only a new way of working that I had never even thought of and I was wanting to step into these characters in my own scene study classes that I ‘d no idea the way to step into. I really had no technique and I didnt understand what I was doing. Coming here Ive began to know how you can work and I learned.

Q: What occurred during the Meisner Summer Intensive that altered your perspective on training?

A: I had been merely constantly waiting for my cue and saying a line the manner that I believed Id done homework on and that I had rehearsed it and actually I didnt even know how to do assignments, which is crazy. Merely thinking back to the summer, how far Ive come is astonishing and it really, truly changed my life.

Q:

A: Things came easy for me personally and I was surprised to recognize and come to the conclusion that everything I ‘d ever done was awful and maybe in college and high school I was one of the better folks in the program and I was always cast as the lead. I was surprised to think back on those roles that Ive recognized and played that I ‘d no notion what I was doing. With the Meisner technique you really begin to comprehend what its like to craft and develop a nature plus a situation, I didnt possess a technique, I didnt discover how to even prepare to get a role and I didnt have training and live through something. I was just shocked and its almost laughable to look at the things that I did before this. Its hard for me to believe individuals have seen me like that and its embarrassing to be quite honest.

Interview and this web log post with Sara first appeared on the studio site: http://www.maggieflaniganstudio.com/summer-intensive-program/

Leave a Reply

